World Cup Winner Jack Charlton says he is Losing his Memory

Jack Charlton on the end of the England lineup prior to the 1966 World Cup Final

Jack Charlton on the end of the England lineup prior to the 1966 World Cup Final

Leeds United legend and England World Cup winner Jack Charlton has admitted that he is losing his memory, but will never forget his World Cup win at Wembley in 1966.

The 80-year-old Geordie icon says he ‘hasn’t got a memory’ as it was revealed Martin Peters, Nobby Stiles and Ray Wilson are battling advanced Alzheimer’s disease.

Big Jack admits he too struggles sometimes.  He said, “I haven’t got a memory, I forget things very easily.  It’s a common thing, I’m 80 years of age now.”

His recollections of the day in 1966 when he and brother Bobby’s England team conquered the world remain crystal clear.

He said, “The atmosphere for that final was different to any other game I played in.  It was very special.

“There was a picture where I’d collapsed on my knees and put my face in my hands.  I just did it automatically, then our Bob came up and we hugged each other a couple of times.  It was very special.”

Mr Charlton added, “My father and mother had come down for the game.  Afterwards they came back to the hotel where we were staying and came out on the balcony with the players.

“They were there celebrating with the rest of us.  No one bothered, everyone was just enjoying the moment.”

This entry was posted in England, Health, Sport and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.